Blog

  • M&C Saatchi H1 Net Revenue Falls 1.4% to £86.2 Million as Q2 Returns to Growth

    M&C Saatchi H1 Net Revenue Falls 1.4% to £86.2 Million as Q2 Returns to Growth

    M&C Saatchi (LSE:SAA) reported a 1.4% decline in like-for-like net revenue to £86.2 million for the first half of 2026, as weaker first-quarter trading and economic uncertainty affected its financial performance.

    Statutory net revenue declined 2.7%, while operating profit fell and margins narrowed during the period.

    The international marketing and communications group reported a return to modest revenue growth in the second quarter, supported by its data-led Media business and advertising operations in the UK and US.

    Management maintained its full-year outlook, expecting like-for-like net revenue and operating profit growth in line with market expectations.

    First-Half Revenue Declines as Operating Margins Narrow

    M&C Saatchi reported like-for-like net revenue of £86.2 million for the six months, down 1.4% year on year.

    On a statutory basis, net revenue decreased 2.7%, while operating profit declined substantially and margins contracted.

    The company attributed the first-half performance partly to difficult macroeconomic conditions and lower trading activity during the opening quarter.

    Revenue returned to modest growth in the second quarter, with contributions from data-led Media and advertising operations in the UK and US.

    Management expects the group’s financial performance to be weighted towards the second half of the year.

    Simplification Programme Continues

    M&C Saatchi is implementing organisational changes intended to simplify its operations and improve efficiency.

    The programme includes streamlining global personnel structures and disposing of its smaller Malaysian business.

    The company also confirmed that a proposed management buyout of its Australia and New Zealand operations has been halted.

    A new global transformation leadership team has been established to develop the group’s use of cultural insights, artificial intelligence and data across its services.

    The Executive Chair will remain in position to oversee the continuing restructuring process.

    New Business Includes Brand USA, Pizza Hut and Hugo Boss

    M&C Saatchi reported new business activity involving clients including Brand USA, Pizza Hut and Hugo Boss.

    The group is focusing on integrated pitches that combine its Citizen and Commercial specialisms with advertising, media and advisory services.

    Its operating approach incorporates an AI-enabled data platform and its Return on Cultural Power (ROCP) framework, which the company uses to connect cultural insights with marketing strategy.

    Management intends to develop these capabilities into products and services that can be deployed across multiple markets and client relationships.

    The group’s operations span the UK, US, Europe and Australia, serving corporate, consumer and public-sector clients.

    £2.2 Million Share Buyback Completed

    M&C Saatchi completed a £2.2 million share buyback in September 2026 as part of its capital return activities.

    The company indicated that it may extend the programme, although no further commitment or additional buyback amount was specified in the supplied announcement.

    The buyback accompanies the group’s ongoing restructuring and efforts to improve financial performance.

    Full-Year Revenue and Profit Growth Expected

    M&C Saatchi maintained its outlook for 2026, expecting like-for-like net revenue and operating profit growth in line with market expectations.

    Management anticipates that its Issues and Media divisions will contribute to full-year performance, alongside a greater weighting of revenue and earnings towards the second half.

    The company is targeting an improvement in operating margins and operating cash conversion above 80%.

    However, it identified conflict in the Middle East and wider economic uncertainty as factors affecting parts of its sport and entertainment and consumer-facing businesses.

    The full-year outlook remains dependent on trading conditions and the delivery of expected second-half activity.

    Outlook and Strategic Priorities

    M&C Saatchi’s priorities for the remainder of 2026 include completing organisational simplification measures, developing its integrated service offering and improving operating margins.

    The group is also seeking to expand the application of its AI-enabled data capabilities and ROCP framework across its international operations.

    Management expects second-half trading to support full-year growth in like-for-like net revenue and operating profit, following the return to modest growth in the second quarter.

    The company continues to target operating cash conversion above 80%, while retaining the option to extend its share buyback programme.

  • Aeorema Communications H1 Revenue Rises 32.5% to £17.5 Million as FY2026 Outlook Upgraded

    Aeorema Communications H1 Revenue Rises 32.5% to £17.5 Million as FY2026 Outlook Upgraded

    Aeorema Communications (LSE:AEO) reported record interim financial results for the six months ended 30 June 2026, with revenue increasing 32.5% to £17.5 million and profit before tax tripling to £1.5 million.

    The AIM-listed strategic communications group attributed its performance to increased business activity, a reduced cost base and cash generation during the period.

    Following the interim results, Aeorema upgraded its full-year guidance and now expects record revenue and profit for FY2026.

    The company also confirmed that its share buyback programme remains ongoing, while the board intends to propose a final dividend.

    Revenue Increases 32.5% as Pre-Tax Profit Triples

    Aeorema reported first-half revenue of £17.5 million, representing a 32.5% increase compared with the corresponding period last year.

    Profit before tax increased threefold to £1.5 million, marking a record interim result for the group.

    The company said its financial performance benefited from a more efficient operating cost structure and cash generation.

    Aeorema operates through its experiential events agency, Cheerful Twentyfirst, which designs and delivers live and hybrid events for international corporate clients.

    Its activities include event production, strategic communications and brand experiences across major international events.

    Cannes Lions Activity Reaches Record Level

    Aeorema reported record activity at Cannes Lions during the first half of 2026, reflecting the scale of its involvement in the international advertising and creative industries event.

    The group also completed its first activations at SXSW and POSSIBLE Miami, extending its presence across additional events in North America.

    These activities form part of Aeorema’s international operations, with the company maintaining a focus on the North American market alongside its established business.

    The group continues to deliver projects through Cheerful Twentyfirst, which provides experiential event services to global brands.

    Three-Year Climate Week NYC Contract Secured

    Aeorema secured a three-year contract associated with Climate Week NYC during the reporting period.

    The agreement adds a multi-year engagement to the group’s portfolio of international events.

    The company did not disclose the financial value of the contract in the supplied announcement.

    The agreement follows Aeorema’s participation in other major events, including Cannes Lions, SXSW and POSSIBLE Miami.

    FY2026 Revenue and Profit Guidance Upgraded

    Following its first-half performance, Aeorema revised its full-year financial expectations.

    Management now anticipates record revenue and profit for FY2026, reflecting the group’s interim results and business activity.

    The company has not provided specific revised revenue or profit figures in the supplied announcement.

    The upgraded outlook follows the 32.5% increase in first-half revenue and the rise in pre-tax profit to £1.5 million.

    Share Buybacks Continue as Board Plans Final Dividend

    Aeorema confirmed that its share buyback programme remains ongoing.

    The board also stated its intention to propose a final dividend for FY2026.

    The supplied announcement does not specify the proposed dividend amount or the value of shares repurchased during the reporting period.

    The company’s capital return plans accompany its revised financial guidance and reported cash generation.

    Outlook

    Aeorema enters the second half of FY2026 with upgraded expectations for full-year revenue and profit.

    The group expects its financial performance to reflect activity across its international events business, including its work at major industry festivals and its three-year Climate Week NYC agreement.

    Its stated priorities include delivering its existing event commitments, maintaining its operating cost structure and continuing its capital return programme.

    The board intends to propose a final dividend alongside the company’s full-year results.

  • Alien Metals Reports New Exploration Licence Adjacent to Elizabeth Hill Silver Project

    Alien Metals Reports New Exploration Licence Adjacent to Elizabeth Hill Silver Project

    Alien Metals Ltd (LSE:UFO) announced that its joint venture partner, West Coast Silver, has secured a new prospecting licence covering the Elizabeth Hill West prospect in Western Australia.

    The newly granted Prospecting Licence P47/2033 directly adjoins the existing Elizabeth Hill mining lease and covers an area where historical exploration has identified silver, copper, nickel and palladium mineralisation.

    Alien Metals retains a 30% interest in the Elizabeth Hill Silver Project and holds approximately 7% of West Coast Silver’s issued share capital.

    The licence expands the exploration area around Elizabeth Hill, with West Coast Silver planning further technical work to identify potential drilling targets.

    New Licence Covers Elizabeth Hill West Prospect

    The Elizabeth Hill West prospect is located within one kilometre of the historic Elizabeth Hill silver mine and the Munni Munni Fault Zone.

    Historical trenching and shallow drilling have identified mineralisation containing silver, copper, nickel and palladium within the prospect area.

    The new licence provides West Coast Silver with additional ground for exploration immediately adjacent to the existing Elizabeth Hill mining lease.

    Alien Metals maintains its exposure to the project through its 30% ownership interest and equity holding in West Coast Silver.

    Exploration Programme to Assess Historical Results

    West Coast Silver plans to undertake a systematic exploration programme at Elizabeth Hill West, beginning with the consolidation and reinterpretation of existing geological and exploration data.

    The planned work will also include field investigations and geophysical surveys to identify and refine potential mineralised targets.

    Results from these activities will inform the selection of targets for possible first-pass drilling.

    The company has not provided a drilling timetable in the supplied announcement.

    The programme will assess the prospect’s mineralisation and its geological relationship with the neighbouring Elizabeth Hill silver deposit and Munni Munni Fault Zone.

    Alien Metals Retains 30% Interest in Elizabeth Hill

    Alien Metals holds a 30% interest in the Elizabeth Hill Silver Project, alongside an approximately 7% equity stake in West Coast Silver.

    The company also retains a 30% interest in the Munni Munni platinum group metals (PGM) system.

    These interests form part of Alien Metals’ strategy of maintaining exposure to exploration and development projects through joint ventures and largely free-carried arrangements.

    The structure allows the company to retain interests in the projects without directly funding their full development costs.

    Any additional mineral resources or discoveries at Elizabeth Hill West would depend on the results of future exploration and drilling.

    Hancock Iron Ore Remains a Core Project

    Alongside its minority interests in Elizabeth Hill and Munni Munni, Alien Metals continues to hold a 90% interest in the Hancock Iron Ore Project in Western Australia’s Pilbara region.

    Hancock hosts a JORC-compliant mineral resource of 8.4 million tonnes grading 60% iron.

    The company is targeting a mining operation capable of producing 2 million tonnes per annum over a 10-year period.

    The project has highway access to Port Hedland, providing a potential transport route for future iron ore production.

    Georgina Basin Provides Additional Exploration Exposure

    Alien Metals also holds approximately 2,500 square kilometres of exploration tenure in Australia’s Northern Territory through its Georgina Basin iron oxide copper-gold (IOCG) project.

    Previous exploration has identified elevated levels of copper, bismuth, silver and uranium, indicating potential for IOCG-style mineralisation.

    The company maintains equity interests in joint venture partners West Coast Silver and GreenTech Metals, alongside its direct project holdings.

    Its portfolio therefore includes iron ore, silver, platinum group metals and other base and precious metal exploration assets.

    Next Steps at Elizabeth Hill West

    West Coast Silver’s immediate priorities at Elizabeth Hill West include reviewing historical exploration information, conducting fieldwork and completing geophysical investigations.

    The results will be used to define potential targets ahead of any initial drilling programme.

    For Alien Metals, the new licence adds an exploration area adjacent to an existing project in which it retains a minority interest.

    Further information on the prospect’s mineralisation and resource potential will depend on the outcome of the planned exploration activities.

  • Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust NAV Falls to 86.2p as Dividend Cover Rises to 1.38 Times

    Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust NAV Falls to 86.2p as Dividend Cover Rises to 1.38 Times

    Octopus Renewables Infrastructure Trust (LSE:ORIT) reported a decline in net asset value (NAV) for the six months ended 30 June 2026, reflecting revised onshore wind valuations, lower long-term electricity price forecasts and higher discount rates.

    NAV per share decreased to 86.2p from 93.8p, resulting in a NAV total return of -5.0%. However, the company’s share price total return was 13.7% over the period, as the discount to NAV narrowed.

    The renewable infrastructure investment trust reported operational cash flows sufficient to cover its dividends, with dividend cover increasing to 1.38 times after scheduled debt repayments.

    Electricity Generation Reaches 575 GWh

    ORIT’s operational portfolio generated 575 gigawatt-hours (GWh) of renewable electricity during the first half of 2026, alongside 614 GWh of compensated generation.

    Revenue and EBITDA from the operational portfolio were slightly ahead of budget, while 86% of near-term revenues remained fixed or contracted.

    Performance varied across the portfolio’s renewable energy technologies.

    Solar generation exceeded budget by 2.8%, while offshore wind output was 5.4% above expectations. Onshore wind generation, however, was 6.0% below revised forecasts.

    The company updated its onshore wind valuations using longer operational histories and additional technical evidence, contributing to the reduction in portfolio value.

    NAV Declines Following Valuation Adjustments

    Net asset value per share fell from 93.8p to 86.2p during the six-month period.

    The decline reflected three principal factors: revised yield assessments for onshore wind assets, lower long-term power price forecasts and an increase in discount rates.

    These adjustments contributed to a NAV total return of -5.0%.

    In contrast, ORIT recorded a share price total return of 13.7%, reflecting a narrowing of the discount between its market valuation and reported NAV.

    The company identified continuing discounts across the listed renewable infrastructure sector and changes in electricity price expectations as factors affecting valuations.

    Management also pointed to private-market merger and acquisition benchmarks as supporting its assessment of the underlying value of the portfolio.

    Dividend Cover Increases to 1.38 Times

    ORIT declared dividends totalling 3.11p per share for the first half of 2026, consistent with its increased full-year dividend target of 6.23p per share.

    Dividend cover rose to 1.38 times after scheduled debt amortisation, with distributions fully covered by operational cash flows.

    At 30 June 2026, the shares offered a dividend yield of 9.5%.

    The company continues to target income generation through its portfolio of renewable energy assets, supported by fixed and contracted electricity revenues.

    Debt Falls to £396.8 Million as Gearing Rises

    Total debt decreased slightly to £396.8 million during the reporting period.

    However, gearing increased to 46.6% of gross asset value, reflecting the reduction in portfolio valuations.

    ORIT has identified deleveraging as a priority, with a medium-term gearing target of approximately 40%.

    The company intends to manage its debt position alongside its capital recycling programme and approach to new investments.

    Management said it would continue to assess potential transactions against their expected returns and associated risks, taking account of private-market activity and policy uncertainty.

    Asset Sales and Solar Investment Progress Under ORIT 2030

    ORIT advanced its capital recycling strategy under the ORIT 2030 plan, initiating several asset sale processes during the period.

    The company also moved a potential new investment into final negotiations.

    In addition, ORIT increased its follow-on investment commitment to UK solar developer BLC Energy by £5.7 million, bringing its total commitment to £10.4 million.

    The additional funding is intended to support BLC Energy’s development pipeline of future solar projects.

    The capital recycling programme forms part of ORIT’s strategy to manage its portfolio, reduce gearing and allocate capital to new investment opportunities.

    Environmental and Social Impact Update

    ORIT estimated that its renewable energy operations avoided approximately 154,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions during the first half of 2026, representing a modest decline compared with the corresponding period last year.

    The company’s social initiatives reached 16,853 beneficiaries, compared with 4,034 in the prior-year period.

    ORIT reports these environmental and social measures alongside its financial performance as part of its impact investment mandate.

    Outlook and Portfolio Priorities

    ORIT continues to focus on cash generation, dividend coverage, portfolio valuations and debt reduction.

    The company expects its high proportion of fixed and contracted revenues to provide visibility over near-term income, while its capital recycling programme is intended to support portfolio management and deleveraging.

    Management has identified changing electricity price forecasts, sector-wide discounts and policy uncertainty as factors affecting the investment environment.

    The trust’s medium-term priorities include reducing gearing towards approximately 40%, progressing asset disposals and assessing new investments against expected returns and risks.

  • Oriole Resources Reports £0.99 Million H1 Profit as Mbe Gold Resource Increases to 1.66 Million Ounces

    Oriole Resources Reports £0.99 Million H1 Profit as Mbe Gold Resource Increases to 1.66 Million Ounces

    Oriole Resources (LSE:ORR) reported a pre-tax profit of £0.99 million for the six months ended 30 June 2026, supported by the recognition of BCM’s 50% interest in the Mbe gold project in Cameroon.

    The AIM-listed exploration and development company also reported an increase in the mineral resource at Mbe, alongside further exploration activity across its Cameroon portfolio and the completion of a joint venture agreement for its Senala project in Senegal.

    The group recorded the interim profit despite continued exploration expenditure and a reduction in its cash balance.

    Mbe Gold Resource Increases to 1.66 Million Ounces

    Oriole reported an updated JORC Inferred Mineral Resource for the Mbe gold project of 50.60 million tonnes grading 1.02 grams per tonne of gold, containing approximately 1.66 million ounces.

    The resource update followed maiden drilling at the MB01-N prospect and extensional drilling at MB01-S.

    The project is held in partnership with BCM, which has a 50% interest recognised during the reporting period.

    The revised resource estimate represents a further stage in the company’s exploration and resource definition programme at Mbe.

    Eastern CLP Exploration Identifies Additional Gold Targets

    Exploration continued across Oriole’s Eastern Central Licence Package (CLP) in Cameroon, with mapping and sampling programmes undertaken at the Pokor, Ndom and Niambaram prospects.

    The company reported gold grades from sampling and identified geological characteristics that it considers comparable to those observed at Mbe.

    Further exploration work will be informed by outstanding soil and auger sampling results, which are expected to help determine the next stages of activity across the licences.

    The Eastern CLP programme forms part of Oriole’s broader exploration activities in Cameroon, where it is assessing additional prospects alongside its established gold projects.

    Bibemi Studies Advance Ahead of Exploitation Licence Application

    At the Bibemi gold project in Cameroon, Oriole continued metallurgical testing and mine planning studies to support an application for an exploitation licence.

    The proposed development involves a small-scale gold mining operation.

    The company also reported progress in discussions with the Government of Cameroon and state mining company SONAMINES regarding the project.

    Oriole is seeking to advance Bibemi towards commercial production, although the proposed mine remains subject to the exploitation licence process and further development work.

    The company has identified Bibemi as a potential commercial hard-rock gold mining operation in Cameroon.

    Senala Joint Venture Agreement Completed

    In Senegal, Oriole completed a joint venture agreement for the Senala gold project with AGEM, a subsidiary of Managem.

    Under the arrangement, AGEM plans to undertake a US$2 million exploration programme comprising drilling and auger work.

    The programme is intended to advance exploration at Senala and provide additional geological information to support further assessment of the project.

    The agreement forms part of Oriole’s approach to progressing its exploration portfolio through partnerships.

    Wapouzé Limestone Project Completes Drilling and Geophysics

    Oriole also completed diamond drilling and geophysical work at the Wapouzé limestone project in Cameroon during the reporting period.

    The results will provide the basis for preparing either a maiden mineral resource estimate or an exploration target.

    The project represents Oriole’s exposure to industrial minerals alongside its gold exploration and development activities.

    Interim Profit Reflects Recognition of BCM Interest

    For the first half of 2026, Oriole reported a pre-tax profit of £0.99 million, reflecting the recognition of BCM’s 50% interest in the Mbe project.

    The result marked a return to profitability for the reporting period, although the company continued to incur expenditure on exploration and technical studies.

    Its cash balance declined during the six months.

    Oriole’s ongoing activities include resource definition at Mbe, exploration across the Eastern CLP licences, technical studies at Bibemi and the planned exploration programme at Senala.

    The next stages of work will include assessing outstanding exploration results, progressing Bibemi’s exploitation licence application and advancing the technical evaluation of Wapouzé.

  • SThree Raises FY26 Profit Outlook to at Least £12 Million as Contractor Order Book Grows 5%

    SThree Raises FY26 Profit Outlook to at Least £12 Million as Contractor Order Book Grows 5%

    SThree (LSE:STEM) has raised its full-year profit guidance after reporting a 2% year-on-year decline in third-quarter net fees, with its contract business showing a smaller decline and the contractor order book increasing.

    The STEM workforce consultancy now expects profit before tax of at least £12 million for FY26, ahead of its previous guidance. The revised outlook reflects working capital efficiencies and one-off benefits.

    Third-quarter net fees declined 2% compared with the same period last year, marking the third consecutive quarter of sequential improvement. Contract net fees fell 1%, while permanent recruitment fees decreased 8%.

    Contractor Order Book Increases to £148 Million

    SThree reported new business growth in six of its 11 contract markets during the quarter, contributing to a 5% increase in its contractor order book to £148 million.

    According to the company, the order book provides visibility over approximately five months of future net fees.

    Contract recruitment continues to account for the majority of SThree’s net fees, with the group maintaining its focus on specialist placements across technology, engineering and life sciences.

    The company said improving trends in its contract business contributed to its outlook, although trading conditions remained subdued in several markets.

    US and Life Sciences Growth Offset Regional Declines

    Performance varied across SThree’s geographical markets and specialist sectors during the third quarter.

    The USA recorded double-digit growth, while the life sciences business returned to growth, with net fees increasing 8%.

    These gains were offset by declines in Germany, the UK, Japan and parts of the Middle East and Asia.

    The USA, Germany and the Netherlands remain SThree’s largest markets, with the group’s performance reflecting differences in recruitment demand across regions and sectors.

    Net Cash Reaches £36 Million as Cost Programme Continues

    SThree reported a net cash position of £36 million and continued its share buyback programme of up to £20 million.

    The company is also implementing a cost-optimisation programme, which has reduced headcount by 7% since the end of the previous financial year.

    Management attributed the increase in full-year profit expectations partly to working capital efficiencies and one-off benefits.

    The group continues to invest in technology and data capabilities, including proprietary agentic artificial intelligence tools, which it expects to support productivity improvements.

    FY26 Profit Guidance Raised

    SThree now anticipates profit before tax of at least £12 million for FY26, exceeding its previous expectations.

    The revised guidance follows three consecutive quarters of sequential improvement in net fee performance, alongside growth in the contractor order book.

    Management expects its contract-focused business model and technology investments to support future growth, while acknowledging that recruitment conditions remain subdued in several European and Asian markets.

    The company’s near-term performance will continue to reflect regional recruitment activity, contract demand and the contribution of its ongoing cost-optimisation programme.

  • Henry Boot Reports £6.3 Million H1 Pre-Tax Loss as Revenue Falls to £80.7 Million

    Henry Boot Reports £6.3 Million H1 Pre-Tax Loss as Revenue Falls to £80.7 Million

    Henry Boot (LSE:BOOT) reported a pre-tax loss of £6.3 million for the first half of 2026, as lower residential land and property transaction volumes affected the UK land promotion, property development and housebuilding group’s financial performance.

    Revenue declined to £80.7 million, while net asset value (NAV) per share decreased slightly. Net debt increased to £132.9 million, reflecting investment in planning activities and higher deferred payments.

    The company expects earnings to be weighted towards the second half of the year, supported by land transactions, housebuilding completions and property lettings.

    Land Portfolio and Development Pipeline

    Henry Boot’s strategic land portfolio comprises 107,924 potential residential plots, providing the group with a substantial inventory of land for future promotion and development.

    The company also has a development pipeline valued at approximately £1.4 billion, including a largely pre-let programme with a gross development value (GDV) of £161 million.

    Its industrial and logistics activities include joint venture projects that are progressing through development. The group also holds an industrial and logistics-focused investment portfolio valued at approximately £120 million.

    Management continues to highlight the potential value of its land holdings and development pipeline, although the timing of transactions and project completions remains relevant to the recognition of earnings.

    Second-Half Earnings Expected to Benefit From Transactions and Completions

    Henry Boot expects its financial performance for 2026 to be weighted towards the second half, with several land transactions either secured or at advanced stages.

    The company anticipates contributions from residential land deals, home completions and property lettings during the remainder of the year.

    At Stonebridge Homes, the group’s housebuilding division, completion volumes are expected to be slightly higher than in the previous year, alongside an increase in average selling prices.

    However, sales rates have moderated slightly, while customer incentives remain broadly stable.

    Bank Facility Increased to £165 Million

    Henry Boot has expanded its banking facility to £165 million, providing additional financial flexibility as it progresses its development activities and manages its land portfolio.

    The increase follows a rise in net debt to £132.9 million during the first half, partly associated with planning investment and deferred payments.

    The board has identified cash generation and cost control as priorities, rather than seeking to maximise short-term earnings.

    The company is also undertaking a strategic review under its new chief executive, with the review focused on identifying opportunities to realise long-term value from the group’s operations and assets.

    Market Conditions and Outlook

    Henry Boot said subdued transaction volumes in residential land and property markets affected its first-half performance.

    The group continues to identify underlying demand in its core residential and industrial markets as a factor supporting its longer-term outlook, although the timing of a recovery remains dependent on economic and market conditions.

    For the remainder of 2026, management expects land transactions, housebuilding completions and lettings to contribute to a second-half weighting in earnings.

    The strategic review, cash generation and execution of the development pipeline remain central to the group’s stated priorities.

  • The Fed keeps its independence

    The Fed keeps its independence

    The question heading into the Fed’s September meeting was whether Kevin Warsh would go against the economic data. Had he done so, markets might have seen it as the Fed losing its independence to political pressure, hurting its credibility and weighing on the dollar, judging by the DXY chart, and Dow Jones futures.

    However, all FOMC members voted in favor of a 25-basis-point hike, bringing the target range to 3.75%-4.00%, the highest level since July 2023. And there were two reasons for this.

    First, the U.S. economy remains strong, with 162,000 nonfarm jobs created in August, above expectations, which ranged from 53,000 to 65,000, and TD Bank estimates real GDP growth of 2.8% in the third quarter, with momentum likely to continue into the fourth quarter.

    Second, inflation shows no signs of easing: year-over-year inflation held at 3.4% in August, while prices rose 0.4% from the previous month, following a 0.1% increase in July. Actually, the numbers could worsen, as the U.S. started the week with diesel prices above $6.50 per gallon, surpassing the 2022 high in nominal terms amid supply disruptions from the war between the U.S. and Iran and Ukrainian attacks on Russian refineries.

    That matters because diesel is not just a problem for drivers but is also a key input for freight, agriculture, electricity generation, rail transport, etc. Hence, the Fed’s rate path is now higher than expected, with rates projected 0.3 pp higher in 2026 and 0.5 pp higher in 2027–2028, with four FOMC members seeing another 50 basis points of hikes, while the remaining 12 expect at least one more hike this year. 

    For now, though, markets aren’t particularly worried about the hit to the economy and are focusing on the fact that they finally have some clarity, at least on monetary policy. But the longer energy issues persist, the harder it will be for the stock market to remain immune.

  • US Stock Futures Advance as Oil Retreats and AI Optimism Returns: Dow Jones, S&P, Nasdaq, Wall Street

    US Stock Futures Advance as Oil Retreats and AI Optimism Returns: Dow Jones, S&P, Nasdaq, Wall Street

    Wall Street appeared set for a higher opening on Monday, with US stock index futures advancing as falling crude oil prices and renewed interest in artificial intelligence supported market sentiment.

    The gains followed a mixed session on Friday, when strength in semiconductor shares helped the Nasdaq Composite and S&P 500 finish higher, while the Dow Jones Industrial Average declined.

    Dow futures rose 0.87%, S&P 500 futures gained 0.71% and Nasdaq futures advanced 1.1%.

    Investors were also monitoring developments in the Middle East ahead of diplomatic meetings scheduled during this week’s United Nations General Assembly.

    Oil Falls Below $100 as Investors Monitor Diplomatic Efforts

    US crude oil futures dropped below $100 a barrel amid expectations that diplomatic initiatives could help ease tensions in the Middle East.

    The decline provided some relief from concerns about elevated energy costs and their potential contribution to inflation.

    US President Donald Trump was due to meet Gulf-state leaders on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly. Ahead of the discussions, he warned that Iran could face severe economic consequences if it failed to reach an agreement and raised the possibility of military action against its leadership.

    Trump also indicated that a meeting with Iranian President Masoud Pezeshkian in New York was possible, suggesting that significant developments could occur soon.

    He described himself as being in a “deciding mode” over whether to pursue military action, maintain economic pressure or seek a negotiated settlement.

    The prospect of diplomatic progress helped support sentiment, although uncertainty surrounding the conflict continued to influence financial markets.

    Semiconductor Rally Supports Nasdaq’s Friday Gains

    US equities experienced a volatile session on Friday, with the major indices repeatedly moving between positive and negative territory before closing mixed.

    The Nasdaq Composite advanced 104.25 points, or 0.4%, to 26,522.55.

    The S&P 500 added 12.74 points, or 0.2%, to finish at 7,650.50.

    The Dow Jones Industrial Average declined 95.40 points, or 0.2%, to 51,682.64.

    For the week, the Nasdaq gained 0.7%, while the S&P 500 slipped 0.1% and the Dow lost 1.7%.

    Semiconductor stocks provided support for the technology-heavy Nasdaq, with the Philadelphia Semiconductor Index surging 2.8%.

    Brokerage shares also performed strongly, lifting the NYSE Arca Broker/Dealer Index by 1.1%.

    Utilities, telecommunications and housing stocks moved lower as interest rate-sensitive sectors came under pressure.

    Treasury Yields Climb as Interest Rate Concerns Persist

    Trading on Friday was influenced by contrasting movements in crude oil prices and US Treasury yields.

    Although oil futures declined sharply, Treasury yields rose as investors continued to assess the outlook for Federal Reserve interest rates.

    Higher yields can increase borrowing costs and reduce the relative appeal of equities, particularly in sectors sensitive to financing conditions.

    Overall trading activity remained subdued as market participants evaluated the outlook following recent price fluctuations.

    The divergence between falling oil prices and rising bond yields highlighted the competing factors influencing investor sentiment.

    US Industrial Output Misses August Expectations

    Economic data released by the Federal Reserve showed that US industrial production was unchanged in August, compared with economists’ expectations for a 0.3% increase.

    The result followed an unrevised 0.2% rise in July.

    Higher utilities output offset a decline in manufacturing production, leaving the overall industrial production index flat for the month.

    The figures added to the information available to investors assessing the strength of the US economy and the potential direction of monetary policy.

    With Wall Street futures pointing higher, attention remained on energy prices, Treasury yields, geopolitical developments and the outlook for interest rates.

  • European Stocks Rise as Falling Oil Prices Ease Inflation Concerns: DAX, CAC, FTSE100

    European Stocks Rise as Falling Oil Prices Ease Inflation Concerns: DAX, CAC, FTSE100

    European equities advanced on Monday as a sharp decline in crude oil prices eased concerns about energy-driven inflation. Investors also monitored the possibility of diplomatic progress over the Middle East conflict during this week’s United Nations General Assembly.

    The pan-European Stoxx 600 gained approximately 1.15%, while the UK’s FTSE 100 rose 1.05%. Germany’s DAX advanced 1.14%, and France’s CAC 40 climbed nearly 1%.

    Lower energy prices supported market sentiment as investors assessed developments ahead of meetings involving US President Donald Trump and Gulf-state leaders in New York.

    Oil Prices Retreat Ahead of UN Diplomatic Meetings

    Brent crude futures fell to $100.20 per barrel before recovering to $101.28, leaving prices as much as 2.5% below their previous closing level during the session.

    The decline reflected expectations that diplomatic discussions surrounding the Middle East conflict could lead to progress, alongside hopes for an improvement in regional oil supply conditions.

    Ahead of a meeting with Gulf-state leaders on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly, Trump warned Iran of severe economic consequences if it failed to reach an agreement. He also raised the possibility of military action against the country’s leadership.

    Trump indicated that he could meet Iranian President Masoud Pezeshkian in New York and suggested that significant developments might occur soon.

    Describing his position as a “deciding mode”, Trump said he was considering military action, continued economic pressure or a negotiated agreement.

    Investors continued to monitor the diplomatic situation for its potential implications for oil supplies, energy costs and inflation.

    Major European Indices Record Gains

    The decline in crude prices helped support European stock markets by reducing some concerns about the impact of energy costs on businesses and consumers.

    The Stoxx 600 rose around 1.15%, reflecting gains across the broader European market.

    In London, the FTSE 100 increased 1.05%, while Germany’s DAX climbed 1.14%. France’s CAC 40 was nearly 1% higher.

    The advances came as investors considered whether lower oil prices could ease inflationary pressures, although developments in the Middle East remained a source of uncertainty.

    UK House Prices Increase for First Time in Four Months

    In UK economic news, property website Rightmove reported that average asking prices increased in September for the first time in four months.

    Prices rose 0.7% from August, marking the first monthly increase since May.

    The advance exceeded the average September increase of 0.5% recorded over the previous ten years.

    Rightmove said the figures reflected early signs of the seasonal improvement in housing market activity typically associated with autumn.

    The data provided an additional indication of conditions in the UK property market as investors assessed the broader economic outlook.